the sea and silence…

The sea murmurs unceasingly. It has secrets to tell; old stories long unspoken – peaceful and passionate, playful and depth deep.

Here on the still shore I spend hours listening, watching, until the rise and fall of the waves slips within me. pulling the tides to turn in my bed as I rest and sleep.

I can sit, see, be and never feel the need to speak.

The sands are comfortable with silences, experts in the all of nothingness, little world-gems of rock.

A crab sits watching me watching, poised between flight and the endless abstract art of tunnels to be dug, tiny dunes recreated.

In these long hours driftwood tangles are smoothed by my touch, knotted with memories of loves lost, found, forgotten.

The sun sails by, regardless.

My heart has nothing to say because I have nothing to do but listen. All is heard, all held in this still point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the sea and silence…

  1. Great imagery expressed in every line and verse.

  2. speccy says:

    Balm for the soul.

  3. Debbie says:

    There is no place on earth I’d rather be than by the sea where truly ‘all is heard and all is held’. Beautiful piece..
    Sweet peace,
    Debbie

  4. Kathy says:

    I’ve read this post several times, as it speaks to me. Being in a place of peace can help to bring the heart much needed peace. I love the sound of the ocean and the smell of a mixture of the sea (except in NJ 🙂 ), sand, and suntan lotion.

    • Hello Kathy, yes I very much agree with you about the ocean. I’ve actually been videoing little clips on the waves so I can have just a few seconds to remind me to find my way back to that sense of peace once I am back home.

Leave a Reply

