Havana’s old darlings…



I am not a car person. I can just about tell a mini from a motorhome.

 

And yet, it is impossible not to fall in love with these old classics that cruise Havana’s streets

I don’t know their names and casual address feels almost a little improper. I can’t describe them, only let them show themselves.

When you are stretched out on a pink leather seat, as big as a couch, it is hard not to see yourself, glowing softly in black and white, with a name fit to go up in lights… so this post is for faded former glory, for showy and shallow, big, beautiful, gaudy, gorgeous.

This entry was posted in Cuba, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Havana’s old darlings…

  1. Wow!!! I’ve read stories of Cuba’s classics and how they are loved and kept running. I can almost smell them from your pictures. You have no idea how much this post means to me. Thank you so much for sharing this moment. -Peter. (grandfathersky)

  2. My father in law spent some time in Cuba and LOVED the cars!
    (and the Women…)

    Gorgeous photos. I want all of them!

    Take care, have fun!

    Jen

  3. Oh my gosh! A classic car lover’s paradise. My dad would have been in heaven! I recognize many of them as the cars that sat in our driveway while growing up. Once again, the photos are great!

Leave a Reply

