how can I help?

We are moths, dancing the breeze ever closer to the flame-flicker that brightens as it burns.

There are paths we never want to walk that have to be trodden. Places we don’t want to visit that tug us irrevocably on.

It takes strength to search for the light as the dark rises inside like creeping claustrophobia. But sometimes strength is gone, light is gone, there is only dark on darkness through fathomless depths.

You cannot always wish the will to go on into being. It is, or is not. But I want to magic it, conjure it, give it away. I want to gift light in a ribbon.

I am worried about my brother.

I am not sure what coping is, how it should feel. I’m not sure if that’s what I should call where I’m at, but if it is, he is not here with me.

I don’t want to go too far on and find he has been left behind.

I am digging without wanting to find what is in my thoughts: excavating phone calls, online chats, second hand conversations.

My family has always buried the hardest heartbreaks in humour, an aside, the half truth that hides hurt in a loud laugh. But that makes it harder to find him, harder to reach him through the fogs of words we splutter. I don’t know which mists to read, divine, and which to bluster-blow away.

I have words, heart, love all bloomed in the same blood but we are different. What we have felt is the same and yet so different. We have lost different people in the death of our one dad.

I don’t want to preach my path when I still stumble on it somedays.  I suck at sales and I have no gospel for grief; no solutions, only stories, thoughts, feelings.

I am not sure what I have is enough, if it can go so far, but I need him not to fall. Losing someone to death is awful, losing someone to life would be something much worse.

How can I help?

 

 

This entry was posted in death, grief and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to how can I help?

  1. cuhome says:

    This is raw, so raw and beautifully said.

  2. Settle in the mode of “example” not “sales. ” Your heart is where it needs to be. You and your brother will be in my prayers.

    God bless,
    Michael

  3. Beautiful writing.
    You said,” We have lost different people in the death of our one dad.” So true. My brother and I had completely different experiences of mom. Our relationship is different now that mom is gone. We look for common ground, but we can not share, not really, our grief. We
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Blessings..

  4. I love your blog. It’s beautifully written and inspirational. Ialso like your set up. I aspire to do the same with my blog. Could I use yours as an example for mine? Thank you for visiting my blog and ‘liking’ it. Because it lead me to yours. I hope this is helping you as much as it will help others. My aunt and cousin have been gone 12 years next April. While the hurt never fully goes away it is better. Much Better. You will live again. I did. I’ll pray for you.

Leave a Reply

