these things I am thankful for..

Lately I’ve realised that gratitude, like good grapes, must be lovingly cultivated. It is an art rather than accident; a habit I’m encouraging to sink through me, to colour me and leave me a little more vivid, a little more alive than before.

Since its been a while since my last gratitude list, I thought I’d write another reminder of just a few of the many things I have to thankful for.

I am thankful:

for hot showers in a distant country
for remembering to close my mouth when I wash my face
for the chocolate barl my mum hid in my luggage
for the packed lunches, ironed clothes and years of love
for the small mercy of a mosquito net with the right number of holes!
for days when it feels as if the sun rose just for me
for a green so green it surprises me
for remembering to love those who are here right now
for a brother who will always come for me, even when its a hassle
for those who rise to love me even in moments when they kind of hate me
for knowing my friends are thankful for me too!
for strangers who are brave enough to offer me their truth
for those incredible people you stumble upon and feel everything change
for loves that last longer than life
for the pleasure of losing and finding myself dancing
for being stronger than I think I am
for the little reminders that I too am beautiful
for new days that start brand new and ten thousand second chances
for the spectacular swell of balloons, sky titans
for travelling far but feeling at home
for words from the heart that free me to float…

I find it hard to write these things, to let them roll through me without glowing, grinning, spinning…. I have a lot of reasons to smile, a lot of reasons to dance.

This entry was posted in thanks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to these things I am thankful for..

  1. Felipe Neumann says:

    I’m so thankful for stumbling upon your blog!
    So happy to hear you’re doing well… been praying for you Laura! I hope you find what you’re looking for and more!
    Hugs!

    P.S: According to Blogger, my blog had a visitor from Uganda today…! How cool is that?! 😉

  2. PM says:

    sometimes we get too caught up in our lives we forget to be thankful for the little things that matter most. so good job on appreciating these things and finding something to smile about. i think this will make your soul happier. 🙂

  3. What a beautiful read on a rough morning; thank you x

Leave a Reply

