on a soft heart and a snake necked turtle..

My family life was always a bit like a camp out at the zoo – pets everywhere and an air of mild chaos kept just under control. My dad loved animals and what he loved he loved with his whole heart.

There was the time a hamster chewed its way out of its carry box  in the car, went AWOL and gradually ate its way through the car’s electronics over the following month. Each time something else stopped, the windows that wouldn’t drop, the lighting suddenly not responsive, we took it as a positive sign our fluffy friend was live, well and thriving.

I’ve also never been allowed to forget the time when, at the tender age of about 8, I attacked my father. Driving through twisty country lanes he’d hit a pheasant despite his best efforts to swerve, only to have me launch myself at him in a fury from the back seat in punishment for his bird murder. As you may guess, I inherited his sympathy for our furred and feathered friends. I still count amongst my unique skills the ability to catch a chipmunk doing the wall of death at high speed – amazing the things you can do with a tea towel!

Dad always had the impulse to rescue those who were down and out, and that impulse was not restricted to humans. At times our home felt like a halfway house for the displaced, despite pitched opposition and protests from my mum. He had a soft heart but a stubborn will which made him almost impossible to oppose.

Just a few of the refugees included two incontinent and utterly ill tempered Yorkshire terriers who had been threatened with destruction, a parrot whose mimicry of manly tones had put him on the wrong side of a divorce, the hamster that showed up looking rather muddled in a  humane mouse trap, and a snake necked turtle found in a puddle on a welsh mountain, chilly and a long way from  home. If you’ve never heard of this particular beastie, don’t be embarrassed, nor had we! Just take my assurances that they are some of the ugliest creatures to splash on the face of the earth. Only their mothers could love them.

In my mind, it takes true greatness of spirit to offer a welcome and affection to a snake necked turtle that is down on its luck..

This entry was posted in memories of dad, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to on a soft heart and a snake necked turtle..

  1. Casey B says:

    It certainly does- although they’re bizarre enough to be cute, imo. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my blog.

  2. I grew up on a farm, and our pets varied from a piglet runt named ‘Sweetie Pie’, to white mice called Jemima and Puddleduck. The list is endless. We farmed fruit, not animals, so the animals we had were mostly pets or for practical purposes – cows for fresh, warm milk thick with cream, chicken for the eggs we used to delight in collecting, horses for riding. I used to love the process of taming each litter of rabbits – gradually tempting the cute little bundles of fur closer and closer with food, spending hours sitting as still as possible while they got used to my presence, until they were finally quite literally eating out of my hand. As for snake necked turtles, they are rather sweetly ugly creatures… I wish I had had the chance to meet you dad. He sounds great. But I guess a lot of him lives on in you, so for getting to know that part of him I am grateful 🙂

Leave a Reply

